Tuesday, July 31, 2012

New Historical Romance Author - Isabella Bradford







I get very excited when there is a new debut author but I get really really excited when a new historical romance author hits the scenes! 




Check out - 
In a sparkling new series filled with irresistible charm and sizzling romance, award-winning author Isabella Bradford introduces us to the eldest of three Wylder sisters—unruly country girls whose passion for life leaves their London suitors breathless. Raised in the Dorset countryside, Lady Charlotte Wylder doesn’t care one bit about well-bred decorum. The dark-haired, blue-eyed beauty would rather ride a horse than attend a stuffy ball. So when Charlotte learns that she is to leave immediately for London to wed the Duke of Marchbourne, a perfect model of aristocratic propriety, she is less than enchanted with her arranged marriage.

But to her delight, their first encounters are brazenly flirtatious, and their wedding night burns with passion. March’s broad shoulders and dark countenance make Charlotte want to rip every button off his waistcoast. She may even be falling in love with her new husband. Yet whenever their desire boils over, March reluctantly pushes Charlotte away. Will past secrets and present misunderstandings mire their marriage in scandal, or serve to strengthen a bond that is destined to last a lifetime?



When You Wish Upon A Duke is on sale now but if you'd like a preview here, check out this link When You Wish Upon A Duke


I love sibling trilogies and the Wylder sisters look like they are going to be just awesome. Let me know if you have check out When You Wish Upon a Duke. I'd love to know what you thought. 




Monday, July 30, 2012

A Virgin River Christmas by Robyn Carr












Marcie Sullivan and Ian Buchanan's book







A Virgin River Christmas (Virgin River 4)

By Robyn Carr

Book Blurb:
Last Christmas, Marcie Sullivan said a final goodbye to her husband Bobby. This Christmas she’s come to Virgin River to find the man who saved his life and gave her three more years to love him.

Fellow marine Ian Buchanan dragged Bobby’s shattered body onto a medical transport in Fallujah four years ago then disappeared as soon as their unit arrived Stateside. Since then, Marcie’s letters to Ian have gone unanswered.

Marcie tracks Ian to the tiny mountain town of Virgin River and finds a man as wounded emotionally as Bobby was physically. But she is not easily scared off. As Marcie pushes her way into his rugged and reclusive life, she discovers a sweet but damaged soul beneath a rough exterior.

Ian doesn’t know what to make of the determined young widow who forces him to look into the painful past and, what’s worse, the uncertain future. But it is, after all, a season of miracles and maybe, just maybe, it’s time to banish the ghosts and open his heart.












I LOVED A Virgin River Christmas. Hands down my favourite of the series so far. I thought it was crazy reading a Christmas book in July but it made no difference for the love I felt for this story. It had me on so many levels. I also loved how in the story the cabin is described almost as exactly as the front cover is shown. Isn't the cover awesome!

I was also wondering how I was going to feel about this story when the couple were two brand new characters that weren't introduced to Virgin River as of yet. I started reading and I was thinking to myself, 'who are these Marcie and Ian characters?' Never fear, they were amazing! Also, A Virgin River Christmas can totally be read as a stand alone so it will make my Christmas recommended reading list. 

I don't even know where to start here. Lets start off with Marcie. What a doll. A marine widow at just twenty three, she was on a soul searching mission looking for her deceased husband's best friend, Ian. Ian served with her husband, Bobby in Iraq and he had saved his life. However, saving his life only resulted with Bobby being paralyzed and severely brain injured living on for an extra three years. The guilt Ian suffered weighed heavily on his shoulders. Ian had so many buried emotions that he basically ended up living like a hermit in the mountains trying to hide away from the world. Even the other retired marines in Virgin River didn't know he was up there deep in the woods. 

Picture Grizzly Adams. Yeah that is pretty much the state of Ian's appearance when he first meets Marcie. He even growled at her like a big bear. What a transformation Ian experiences. Not just in appearance but in personality as well. Grumpy and uncommunicative he won't even talk to Marcie about Ian or Iraq. Unfortunately (or luckily) she gets sick with the flu and he ends up being stuck with her surrounded by snow in his bare bones cabin. He takes cares of her and clearly demonstrates his well hidden soft side. 

Marcie and Ian's banter was superb. She is such a talkative firecracker and that leaves Ian's head spinning. She can't be quiet and he is used to going days without talking to anyone. I was smirking so much. Marcie had an amazing personality. She is strong and genuine. She is just what Ian needs to bring him around. 

There are some tear jerkers scenes that just brought the book together excellently. Simply touching. I would say A Virgin River Christmas is an outstanding wintertime story full of forgiveness and learning to move forward. You don't need to wait for the cold season to enjoy. It warmed my heart and weather and season had nothing to do with it. 

The readers are still treated to a few of the regular characters. There are no real updates on their lives but they do play off as great secondary characters. They definitely enhanced the story. 

Teasers: stuck in outhouse, propane stove blast in face, bath time strip down, Christmas tree serenade




Sunday, July 29, 2012

Blind Faith by Evelyn Jules














Faith and Adrian's book





Blind Faith

By Evelyn Jules

Book Blurb:
Faith Lawson is just your average, wholesome librarian with a dirty mind...until a chance encounter with a handsome stranger brings her fantasies to life in a frantic night of passion. But when he walks out her door, he leaves a piece of his past behind that changes everything.


I love books where the title is a double entendre. Perfection.

Blind Faith is a sexy short story by debut author, Evelyn Jules. This .99 gem is a deal on Amazon! 


It amazes me how authors like Evelyn Jules can write such short stories that still deliver excellent character interactions and development. Faith has been admiring Adrian from afar and a chance meeting out in the slippery snow gave Faith an opportunity to just go for it! Leading with lustful thoughts, the pair makes it back to her close-by apartment. 

A steamy encounter, including some fun banter, reveals that Faith is a fan of the more "sexier" romance novels. I loved this concept because lustful quickies are often the way in erotic romances and I kept thinking to myself that perhaps Faith is being fueled by some of those fantasies. It brought a smile to face. There is nothing more awesome than reading about a woman taking what she wants. 

Their much to quick encounter does have immediate consequences which leaves Faith a bit ashamed of herself and more than a little bit mad at Adrian. I felt that her reaction was completely justified. Even though the reader knows Adrian's thoughts and point of view, I couldn't help but side with Faith. 

Luckily Adrian gets a chance to do some explaining and it nicely wraps up where their lustful emotions seems to take them when they get within a few feet of each other. Amazing debut to Evelyn Jules. I can't wait to see what else she publishes in the future. 

Teasers: bye bye zipper, left over souvenir, blizzard explanation, makeup sex rocks










2012 RITA & Golden Heart Award Winners | Romance Writers of America


RITA & Golden Heart Awards were announced at the RWA.




RITA Awards: Overview

Rita AwardThe purpose of the RITA® contest is to promote excellence in the romance
genre by recognizing outstanding published romance novels and novellas.
The award itself is a golden statuette named after RWA's first president, Rita Clay Estrada, and has become the symbol for excellence in published romance fiction.

About the Contest

Up to 1,200 romance novels from 12 different categories are entered in the RITA competition each year. A novel may be entered either by the author or by the book's publisher in one of the 12 categories. After the first round of judging by published romance authors, the competition narrows to approximately 100 finalists.
Once RWA announces the RITA finalists, a final round of judges evaluates and ranks these novels to determine the 12 RITA Award winners. The RITA Award winners are announced at the Awards Ceremony at the RWA Annual Conference. 
(above blurb was taken right from the RWA website)

I admit to not having read any of the books but I do actually own some of the books. I need to move them up my list and read them!! Have you read any of the books that won?

Congratulation to the winners. What an honour.


2012 RITA & Golden Heart Award Winners | Romance Writers of America:

'via Blog this'

Friday, July 27, 2012

Free Historical Romance this Weekend - The Reluctant Marquess


Try a "new to me" author via a FREEBIE!
Admittedy I have not read The Reluctant Marquess as of yet but I did download and add to my TBR list. I love finding new historical romance authors. 








Maggi Andersen's 'The Reluctant Marquess' will be available FREE from Friday morning until Sunday evening.

Book Blurb:
Charity Barlow wished to marry for love. The rakish Lord Robert wishes 
only to tuck her away in the country once an heir is produced.


A country-bred girl, Charity Barlow suddenly finds herself married to a marquess, an aloof stranger determined to keep his thoughts and feelings to himself. She and Lord Robert have been forced by circumstances to marry, and she feels sure she is not the woman he would have selected given a choice.


The Marquess of St. Malin makes it plain to her that their marriage is merely for the procreation of an heir, and once that is achieved, he intends to continue living the life he enjoyed before he met her.


While he takes up his life in London once more, Charity is left to 
wander the echoing corridors of St. Malin House, when she isn’t thrown into the midst of the mocking Haute Ton.


Charity is not at all sure she likes her new social equals, as they 
live by their own rules, which seem rather shocking. She’s not at all 
sure she likes her new husband either, except for his striking 
appearance and the dark desire in his eyes when he looks at her, which sends her pulses racing.


Lord Robert is a rake and does not deserve her love, but neither does she wish to live alone.


Might he be suffering from a sad past? Seeking to uncover it, Charity attempts to heal the wound to his heart, only to make things worse between them.



Will he ever love her?


Amazon US/CAD here  Amazon UK here


If you download it and read it, come back and let me know what you thought. 







Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Whispering Rock by Robyn Carr















Mike & Brie's book




Whispering Rock (Virgin River 3)

By Robyn Carr

Book Blurb:
The tightly knit community of Virgin River has been a safe haven for more than a few lost souls over the years—and there’s always room for one more...

A decorated U.S. Marine reservist, LAPD officer Mike Valenzuela was badly wounded in the line of duty, but has found hope and healing in Virgin River. When he agrees to become the town’s first cop, he does so knowing it’s time he settled down. Twice divorced and the lover of too many women, he secretly longs for the kind of commitment and happiness his marine buddies have found—a woman who can tie up his heart forever. He finds that woman in Brie Sheridan, a Sacramento prosecutor who understands his drive to protect and serve. Virgin River becomes a safe haven for Brie after nearly losing her life at the hands of a crazed criminal. Though tough and courageous, she’s got some fears she can’t escape—but now she has someone who will shower her just what it means to trust again.

Mike will do anything to help Brie free herself from painful memories. Passionate, strong and gentle, he vows to give back to her what she’s so selflessly given him—her heart, and with it, a new beginning.







Whispering Rock is an emotionally filled book with a wonderful continuation of the River River characters. 

I am really liking this series. Each book is filled with various revolving stories from the new characters and updates from the previous characters. I like that. I like that a lot. I love to fall in love with characters and I can get annoyed when I never hear from them again (even though I am reading a series). I bet the author Robyn Carr has a massive spreadsheet to keep track of where everyone is in their fictional lives because there are many mini stories within the one main plotline. Not to busy to get confused though. The town of Virgin River is perfectly orchestrated. 

Mike and Brie are an excellent couple. As they are both victims of a violent crime, they support each other and help each other heal. I liked that Robyn Carr realistically writes that it takes time for them to heal and that there are many steps to recovery along the way. It is not a quick spring back when you've been shot 3 times or brutally raped. I also like the pace of each book. 

The author seems to be in no rush just to make things happen or create an event. Paige and Preacher is a great example. They are trying for a baby in Whispering Rock and I loved that she does not get pregnant out of one night of passion. Instead it becomes a story and it takes a bit of time. I don't feel rushed. I can just sit back and enjoy the story and their journey. 

Jack and Mel make a heavy presence in Whispering Rock which is just awesome. Of course Brie is Jack's sister so it was easily predicted that he would be around a lot. Still, Jack and Mel received a lot of their own story too. Let's face it, I am fan of these couples so I like to read about them. 

A few new characters were introduced. I am for sure looking forward to more on their story. Paul, Matt and Vannie's story is what got the tears out of me. Very emotional. Not to mention the update on Lilly Anderson. *grabs more kleenex*
I also am interested in the Tom Booth storyline. He seems so mature for only seventeen. He seems to have quite a career ahead of him. So put together for such a young man. 

The next story is a Christmas story and it will seem odd reading about Christmas in July but I am way to anal about reading books in order to pass it over. Plus with these books not really being stand alones, I need to see what is up with the Virgin River cast. 

Teasers: Ovulation Day!, Spanish to English interpretations, VCR tape of a birth (LOL!), roofie drug bust










Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Summer Blog Hop Winner! Congrats to...


Thank you for participating in the Summer Blog Hop. Rafflecopter randomly selected Michelle Clay as the winner. Michelle has confirmed back and I've now sent her an Amazon Gift Card to enjoy. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 23, 2012

Shelter Mountain by Robyn Carr














John "Preacher" and Paige's book





Shelter Mountain (Virgin River 2)

By Robyn Carr

Book Blurb:
For the second time in a year a woman arrives in the small town of Virgin River trying to escape the past.

John “Preacher” Middleton is about to close the bar when a young woman and her three-year-old son come in out of a wet October night. A marine who has seen his share of pain, Preacher knows a crisis when he sees one—the woman is covered in bruises. He wants to protect them, and he wants to punish whoever did this to her, but he knows immediately that this inclination to protect is something much more. Paige Lassiter has stirred up emotions in this gentle giant of a man—emotions that he has never allowed himself to feel.

But when Paige’s ex-husband turns up in Virgin River, Preacher knows his own future hangs in the balance. And if there’s one thing in the marines’ motto of Semper Fidelis—always faithful—has taught him, it’s that some things are worth fighting for. 









I really enjoyed this book two, Shelter Mountain. I was a bit worried after not loving book one as much as I thought I would but Shelter Mountain redeemed it for me. I am very happy to continue on with the series and I've already got Whispering Rock on deck ready to go after I finish this review. 


A pet peeve of mine is when an author introduces a secondary character in one book and then when that secondary character gets their own book, its like the author created a completely different character. That peeve or mine did NOT happen here. Robyn Carr was true to Preacher's character from Virgin River book 1. What the author did do was give Preacher his own fabulous story. He was still the quiet, reserved and shy man that he was when he was introduced. The only thing that changed was that we understand and know more about him. Preacher is worth knowing. 

Preacher's real name is John. The nickname given to him by his fellow marine brothers really suited him. He may look completely bad ass but he is the quintessential gentle giant. Paige fell in love with John not because he was a super hunky alpha hero but because she was drawn to his protective demeanor and she felt safe. Cherished. John treated her as a respected woman and gave her time to heal from her abusive past. As she fell in love with John, she then began to see him as the attractive man he was. From the inside and then out. Oh man. I just loved how this attraction grew. It wasn't out of lust or need. Their story got me hook, line and sinker. 

The way John handled Paige's young son, Chris was also so admirable. Their time together was precious. The only thing that annoyed me about little Chris was his lack of use in the book. It was as though Chris needed to be there for the story but he was usually napping or having a bath and occasionally he was colouring. Not a big deal as this situation often happens with young characters. 

Shelter Mountain also had quite a few side stories. Jack and Mel from Virgin River have a baby and what an awesome scene that was! Mike Valenzuela, one of John and Jack's marine buddies makes quite a few appearances. (No doubt as he moves into his own story Whispering Rock) The other major side story was that teen love affair that I didn't care for in Virgin River, Rick and Liz. Well their little story was quite powerful in Shelter Mountain and this is where the tears were shed. 

The ending was gripping and had a great climatic conclusion. I really got to know these characters in  Shelter Mountain and I still want to keep knowing them. I look forward to the next book. 

Teasers: fixed a bear leg, fireside chats, candlelight birth, the mysterious cowboy drug trafficker Dan






Saturday, July 21, 2012

Virgin River by Robyn Carr













Melinda Munroe and Jack Sheridan's book





Virgin River

by Robyn Carr

Book Blurb:
"Wanted: Midwife/nurse practitioner in Virgin River, population six hundred. Make a difference against the backdrop of towering California redwoods and crystal-clear rivers. Rent-free cabin included."
When the recently widowed Melinda Monroe sees this ad she quickly decides that the remote mountain town of Virgin River might be the perfect place to escape her heartache, and to reenergize the nursing career she loves. But her high hopes are dashed within an hour of arriving: the cabin is a dump, the roads are treacherous and the local doctor wants nothing to do with her. Realizing she's made a huge mistake, Mel decides to leave town the following morning.
But a tiny baby, abandoned on a front porch, changes her plans...and a former marine cements them into place.
Melinda Monroe may have come to Virgin River looking for escape, but instead she finds her home.


I'm so on the fence about Virgin River. I have long wanted to read this series and in fact I have built up to owning every single book in the Virgin River series. Slowly through garage sales and used book stores, I already own them all. 
After finishing this first book, Virgin River, I am not quite sure how I feel. I loved some things and really disliked others. Hopefully by typing out this review, I can get a better handle on my rating near the end. 

I have a soft spot for small towns in novels. I loved Jill Shalvis' Lucky Harbor (Lucky Harbor series) and Margaret Ethridge's Heartsfield (Spring Chickens) to name a few.  So I was sure I was going to fall right in love with Virgin River. For me I think that was the main appeal I held for this series. Now, not so much. There was really nothing adorable about the town. The houses were old clapboard and there really wasn't a draw for me to ever want to actually visit Virgin River

My next thought was that I was confident that the characters of Virgin River are more than going to make up for the less than desirable town. Well that fell flat for me too. I admit that the crotchety old Doc having had a few moments but that was pretty much it. Everyone else was just so plain and not worth remembering or mentioning here in the review. 

That brings me to our protagonists Mel and Jack. I think Mel had a great plan in motion to leave her painful past back in LA and try for something fresh and new. The idea of committing to a one year contract in a small town clearly had appeal. Mel stuck me as a smart woman. So why in blazes would she take designer clothes, boots and a BMW to the woods? I mean come on. Even I would know it is time to purchase some hiking boots or a rain slicker. A BMW for dirt roads? I get that all she saw of Virgin River before arriving was from pictures but geez I'd have gotten a map out and saw it was in the middle of a redwood forest area. 

I felt for Mel's loss and I felt that the length of time it took for her to finally just kiss Jack was believable. I don't mind a sweet story even if it takes half the of the romance book just to get to a kiss. It was understandable with the death of her husband just being under one year. 

Jack was a character that was almost too good to be true. A forty year old unattached total hunk in the middle of the Virgin River running a bar/diner. He was also an ex-marine that had a bit of baggage but that just added to his appeal. He was very patient with Mel and it was clear that he was head of heels in love with her way before she was with him. I liked that a man could fall for a woman before they even had sex. 

There were a couple of secondary characters that were put into mature situations and their ages were really young. They were 14 & 16 years old and their sex scene was written with more detail than Jack and Mel's eventual intimates were. I didn't like that all and it added nothing at all to the book or story other than perhaps these characters are set up for their own future book. I sure can wait for them to grow up because teen sex is a great big turn off for me.

The very last thing I'll mention that I didn't care for was a confusing introduction of a bunch of characters from Grace Valley. There was too many people to keep my head around when they were all thrown into the mix with conversations. June, John, Jack, Jim...I was lost among the J's. 

Okay so what was the appeal with Virgin River to me? I don't know? Maybe it was peace. There was low drama and the story was just about two lonely people who came together and found love. It was simple. There were some very sweet moments between Jack and Mel and they had wonderful families. It was nice to read about Mel moving past the pain of losing her husband. I also like that she really loved her husband. There was no need to make him more of a victim than he was.  

Since I have the entire series I will read them. I am going to move to book 2, Shelter Mountain next. We will see how it goes from there and that will determine how fast I move on to each subsequent book. 

Teasers: cabin hovel, baby Chloe, fly fishing flirtations, rain storm melt down





Thursday, July 19, 2012

How to Ravish a Rake by Vicky Dreiling













Amy Hardwick and Will "Devil" Darcett





How to Ravish a Rake (How to Series 3)

By Vicky Dreiling

Book Blurb:
SCANDALOUS DESIRES . . . 

Amy Hardwick has one last Season to shake off her wallflower image and make a love match. If she can't, she'll set aside her dreams of romance and return home to a suitor who can provide security-if little else. What she doesn't count on is the inappropriate-and irresistible-attention lavished on her in a darkened library by rake extraordinaire Will "The Devil" Darcett . . .

DEVILISH DELIGHT

When Will is caught in a tryst with the ton's shyest miss, he knows he must offer for her hand. Yet Amy is not the shrinking violet she seems to be. Passion lies beneath her prim exterior and Will is eager to release it. But winning Amy isn't simply a matter of seduction; first, Will must convince her that he's mended his wicked ways . .





Completely loved How to Ravish a Rake!

I got so wrapped up in How to Ravish a Rake that I read it in a day, non-stop. The hero, Will was delicious and Amy was just delightful. I loved the romance formula that author, Vicky Dreiling concocted in this ravishing story. She choose a novel approach instead of writing the usual overused conflict where the protagonists try to avoid their mutual feelings towards one another.  It was a breath of fresh air to read that the couple recognized that they had to be together and instead the wedge was a secret that could potentially destroy each other's tender trust. Toss in that situation with their newly coerced marital status and it made for a thrilling page turning experience. 
Oh how I loved it. 

I had lots of smiles while reading How to Ravish a Rake. Will's family provided the majority of the grins but Will did a great job himself. He is not such a serious character and did a terrific job of handling some tough situations. Will received some wonderful advice from his older brother, Hawk and I highlighted a few of them because they were was so sage. 

"I've made bad mistakes, as you know, but what counts is how you deal with it afterward."

"The circumstances of your marriage aren't important. It's what comes after the wedding that matter."

Those are definitely quotable statements that can be used no matter what time period you are in. 

Will really takes that advice to heart and makes the most out of his situation with Amy. Just as Amy does. I felt bad for the pair being forced into a marriage after their innocent and accidental overnight encounter. It was a joy to read about Amy blooming from that shy wallflower to a desirable confident woman. I also loved that her change came from within herself and not credited to a man. 

For a couple that would not have been considered good match, there was a lot of romance throughout their story. 

How to Ravish a Rake also treated the readers to an awesome secondary story between Georgette and Beau. Their story was different but no less interesting. What a bonus. 

Teasers: Wine cellar, marriage courtship, sexy poetry reading while he held her, picnic





Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Hot Summer Nights Giveaway Hop as well as Outlander News

the book nympho


Wow is it hot enough outside for you? Setting records here. There's nothing better than a hot read to go with the sweltering summer weather. 


Who is your favourite couple to read about? My epic favourite couple is Jamie and Claire Fraser from Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. 

Credit to the talented "Captivated2" at Deviant Art for her portrayal of Jamie and Claire

I just heard the news that my favourite book couple is about to get turned into a TV cable series by "Battlestar Galactica" famed developer/executive producerRon Moore. Here is the MASSIVE BIG NEWS about Jamie and Claire's Outlander news article


Oh I hope Ron Moore keeps author Diana Gabaldon on speed dial and isn't shy to use it!


Is there a couple's story that you'd like to try or do you just want that next book in a series? Well here is a great chance. Don't forget to check out many of my blogging buddies as there are tons of great giveaways to help beat the heat. 

  1. Open International (because I adore all of you) If Book Depository delivers to your area, you pick up to $15!
  2. If US or CAD, you can choose whether you'd prefer a $15 Amazon Gift Card or if you'd rather - up to a $15 book at Book Depository. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

How to Seduce a Scoundrel by Vicky Dreiling













"Hawk" Marc, the Earl of Hawkfield and Lady Julianne Gatewick's story




How to Seduce a Scoundrel (How To Series book 2)

By Vicky Dreiling

Book Blurb:
Miss Julianne Gatewick is in a pickle. It started when her brother's best friend-for whom she's long nursed a secret tendre-agreed to act as her guardian for the Season, only to seduce her with a risqué waltz. But when the music stopped and the expectant ton waited for Marc Darcett, Earl of Hawkfield, to claim her as his own, he made his disinterest clear. Rather than succumb to humiliation, Julianne does what any self-respecting, recently discarded young miss with a wicked sense of humor would do. She secretly pens a lady's guide to enticing unrepentant rakes . . . and it becomes the hottest scandal sheet in London.

Every honorable rake knows that friends' sisters are forbidden. But suddenly Julienne has a spark of mischief in her eyes that Hawk can't resist. Try as he might to push her away, he spends his days listening for her laughter and his nights dreaming of kissing her senseless. He's always avoided innocents and their marriage-minded mothers, but has the man least likely to wed finally met his match?




What happened to the Hawk I fell in love with in How to Marry a Duke? This question often occurs to me when an awesome secondary characters from a previous book gets their own story. I adored him in book 1 and I could barely stand him in his own book, How to Seduce a Scoundrel. Night and day comparison. When a secondary character is used as comic relief, I find it is very difficult for the author to maintain that same light heartiness when they become the main protagonist. When a conflict needs to be introduced it's just plain difficult to be entertaining and a scene stealer. Hawk felt like a completely different man to me and one that I really didn't care for. 

Lady Julianne Gatewick seemed to me to be the quintessential silly chit. She wants to be seen and viewed as a woman yet her behaviour was that of a very young twenty one year old. No wonder Hawk had a difficult time viewing her as grown up. 

Now having said that, I believe that Vicky Dreiling's story to be historically accurate. Julie's behaviour would best represent exactly how a young lady of the time would actually behave. Crying, being distraught and feeling humiliated at the situations I would view as minor, was indeed a big event to a lady of that era. In fact, I felt the entire book was very well researched starting with the spot on English speech to the pissing pot under the men's card table. 

Hawk started to become creepy to me. Julie was in his care and sometimes I felt like he was a babysitter taking advantage of his charge. I'd have to remind myself that Julie was in fact twenty one but then she'd act in a manner that a youth would behave and I just got all confused. He was beyond possessive and unreasonable even going as far as "grounding her" for a week. They'd argue similar to how a parent and a teen would carry on. It was frustrating for me to picture a romance blooming because they'd always have this parental type of argument. Here is a great quote about Hawk's treatment of Julie.  

"His conduct is beyond rude. He treats me as if I am a marionette. I am weary of him pulling my strings at his pleasure."

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the best character in the entire book, Hawk's aunt Hester. Yes Hester provided the much needed comic relief in How to Seduce a Scoundrel since Hawk's previously awesome personality was missing. I need to include a favourite quote from Hester because she is a gem.

"Louisa, the statue is hideous. If you want a naked man, find yourself one who is breathing." 

What I did love about How to Seduce a Scoundrel was feeling like I was reading about real people from 1817 instead of fictional. The flirtations, Julie's friendships with Georgette & Amy and the ton relationships all just felt so perfect to me. As if the book was actually written by an author living in the historical time. I did smile a lot while reading How to Seduce a Scoundrel and I'd love to have gotten my hands on Julie's published pamphlet. I think it would have been a real kick to have read it. I really want to read about Julie's friend Amy's story so my next book choice is going to be How to Ravish a Rake

Teasers: drunk girlfriends, secret pamphlet publishing, the "cubs", poises a plenty